Posted by: Admin | August 4, 2009

Why put off til tomorrow, what you can put off until the day after?

I think a version of that quote was first made by Mark Twain, but I prefer the version I have above, from a man far wiser than Mark Twain, my Dad.

Both my mother & father retired this past May to partake in their own leisurely lifestyle.  They have both paid their dues, so to speak.  My Dad comes from that old-school mentality of staying in a job until they close the doors on you. Where they literally did this to him after after 25 years of employment back in the 80’s.  He recovered from his lay off and therefore I surmise, so will I.

Anyway, back to my Dad’s quote.    Each day after their retirement I would call to see what their plans were for the day… and each day they would tell me their plan was to relax.  Then one day, my Dad shared his new mantra..  “Why put off til tomorrow, what you can put off until the day after?”   Interesting, catchy even… had my Dad unlocked the key to enjoying leisure time?   One might argue that he was justifying his procrastination but, I prefer to think of it as the ultimate wisdom bestowed upon me by a man who knows.    A man who has spent a lifetime of working hard and gaining knowledge.   A man who, for all intensive purposes, is an older version of me. 

So, at least for the next week or so, I’m going to try to live by this philosphy.  No, not because I realize that laziness is good but instead, because I understand the value of taking some time for ME.   Which I haven’t really done and in all likelihood won’t be able to do for another 30 or so years until I myself retire.   Perhaps my plan, at least for today, should be to relax!

Responses

  1. hey hey.. this is a great “release”. I’m impressed you already have 455 views, this could go somewhere.
    I experienced something like this a few years ago. I called it early retirement. I had too much time on my hands and I came to understand why old people are so slow. I spent my time leisurely waiting in line at the post office, sitting in traffic and enjoying it, and taking long aimless drives. That list of things to do..forget it. My motto now is when I think of something to do, I do it now. Working 40 hours a week or more, you don’t have time for that! Now you have time…

    Fast forward to now… it has been 3 years since I have worked a 40 hour week. I work part time at Trader Joe’s because it’s fun and I enjoy it. I sleep in every morning with the dogs because I can. I can honestly say I am a much happier and less stressed person and I have no vision in my future of working a 40 hour work week in the rat race. I have no idea how but it’s working right now. today.

    why don’t come visit me for a few days?

  2. Ah, the halcyon days of early unemployment, when the checks are still coming and it seems like it might just be a temporary respite. Yes, I remember them well and fondly. Enjoy it, that’s all I can say. It gets old after a couple of months, stressful after a few, and life threatening after about a year. Best advice I can give you: Start thinking about making a living without a job.

    Good luck to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

