Posted by: Admin | April 5, 2010

Spring Cleaning!

Well, it’s finally starting to feel like Springtime.  If you live in the Tri-State area like me, you’ve been anxiously awaiting a few warm days in a row for quite a while.  It’s been a really rough winter with snowstorms and rain storms that seemed like monsoons.  We’ve had to deal with flooding, ruined shrubs from the weight of the snow and even the gutters were torn off the back of our house during one of the rain storms that happily brought with it 70mph winds. 

Anyhow, my post isn’t to complain about the crappy weather from the past few months, it’s to celebrate the sunny days that we’re starting to see.  I’ll admit it, I have a horrible case of Spring Fever today.

And with any good case of Spring Fever, along comes the need for Spring cleaning.

I’ve really been too busy to think about my seasonal purge with the new job and the HGTV show and the Easter holiday.  It seems like all my free time has been filled with other stuff.  But today, as I opened my windows for the first time and felt the warmth of the sun, I knew it was time to start thinking about coming out of our winter cocoon to ready ourselves for the summer.

There are 2 things that help me with my sweep through the house each year…

One is the dreaded yard sale (not dreaded for me.. .but surely dreaded by my dear hubby – he just simply hates these things!). And, the other one is Freecycle.

I’ve mentioned Freecycle in my Frugal Living Post from quite a while ago.  But today, I thought I’d mention it again, since so many people do a Springtime clean and many people are either unaware of the website or don’t realize how great it can be!

If you are not already aware…. www.freecycle.org/ is a community website, searchable by localities, that allows you to offer & receive items for FREE!   You must become a member of your local community (takes just minutes) and you must abide by their policies (which are very basic) and off you go!

The basic rules are below (you should read the specific rules on the main page of your local Freecycle group):

  • Every item you offer to someone else must be FREE.
  • Any item that you receive must be for your personal use and NOT resale.
  • You cannot post a request for an item until you have given something away
  • Be courteous & respectful to other Freecyclers.

If it seems pretty simple…. That’s because it is!

This is a fantastic way for things not to get wasted or thrown away.  As they say, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

It’s also a great way to find a home for that patio furniture that you no longer need but that might be too good still to throw away.   It’s a great way to pass along all those books that you have boxed in the attic.  It may even be a way to give someone who’s really in need a working refrigerator that you no longer use.

And, what do you get in return??   Well, for one thing… you get a de-cluttered home.  You also get the feeling that you’ve truly helped someone else who might have been in need.  You get the peace of mind that you haven’t thrown something out that could be of use to someone else.  And, you don’t have to be bothered with scam emails from Craigslist as you try to sell something that you could have given away.

And, once you’ve given something away, you are allowed to post requests.  So, maybe this is the year you want to start exercising at home.  So, you post for some exercise equipment. Or maybe you could use some extra bricks to finally finish off that patio out back.. and maybe some has some leftover bricks piled in their garage.. it’s a win/win for both of you!

So, as I start my own Spring cleaning… I’m separating things into a few piles.  Yard sale items, Craigslist items, & Freecycle items.

It’s a great way to earn a few extra dollars, clean up my house and find homes for items that I’m no longer using!

Responses

  1. Admin,

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog because I feel like someone “gets” what I’m going through. I graduated with a professional degree and have been looking for jobs for 6 months now. (The down-side: I don’t get any unemployment money coming in, so we’re living off our savings; the up-side: I don’t have to deal with the unemployment office).

    I know you’re busy with everything you’ve now got going on.

    I’m hoping you can talk more about how the transition back into being busy felt. I know the smallest task, which never would have seemed like a big thing before, is now a huge obstacle for me. I’m used to very small decisions, like which type of cereal should I eat for breakfast. I’m worried that when I finally do enter the working world, it’s going to hit me like a ton of bricks and with my “mush brain” I won’t be able to keep up. Has it taken you awhile to hit your stride? Are you easily stressed out? I’m hoping soon some of the leads I have on jobs will come through for me, but I’m getting nervous about the transition, like “what if I can’t handle it after so much time off?” Thanks.

    • SMB ~ I’m so glad you enjoy reading.. there are definitely days where I’m not sure if I’m just journaling for myself or if there’s really anybody out there in internet-land reading! So, thanks for leaving a note!!

      As for my transition back to work, it’s a great question. One that I will address in some upcoming blog posts.. .stay tuned!

  2. I totally agree that Freecycle is great. We’ve gotten rid of several old computer monitors that way. Unfortunately we haven’t been able to pick up many big items for ourselves due to our tiny cars. It’s nice to know fewer things out there are going to waste though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

