Posted by: Admin | August 6, 2009

What’s that smell?

Well, hopefully it’s not me… because I actually showered this morning (HOORAY!)

With endless amounts of free time, I find myself making mental check lists to fill up my day.  So, my morning went something like this:

  • Shower ….check
  • Pedicure ….check (even an unemployed girl needs pretty toes in the summer)
  • Call dog groomer … check (If I’m going to do some primping today, my furry friend should get some also … sort of like sharing a spa day with my dog!)
  • Spend time on Facebook .. check
  • Spend more time on Facebook … check
  • Do a load of laundry… check
  • Empty dishwasher ….check
  • Check Email
  • Check Facebook (what a fantastic time waster!)
  • Job hunt online… check
  • Call a former co-worker to see if he’s found employment yet (he hasn’t) 

Now it’s 1:00, what do I do next…. Ok, how about some lunch? 

That’s where the smell comes in…. I’ll admit it’s a little unsettling to open up the fridge and wonder what that smell is wafting, every so potently into the kitchen?   Come on, you’ve all been there.  The moment you begin to wonder: How long has that Chinese food has been in there?  When did I buy that milk?  What’s growing in that Tupperware?   So, today the task added to my list for the afternoon is cleaning out the fridge.  It’s a dirty job but somebody’s got to do it.  I’m pulling on those gloves, breaking out the Clorox and going to town.   

  • Salad dressing from 2002 – garbage
  • Hot dogs in a zip loc bag (circa April 2009) – garbage
  • Tupperware of leftover Rice-A-Roni  – garbage
  • Who exactly needs 5 different kinds of mustards (and how exactly did I accumulate them?)

You get the drift…… 

I did however find a nifty little internet site that helped me sort through all the assorted items I came across… www.stilltasty.com   When in doubt about the shelf life/consumability (yes, I make up my own words) of any food items, this is the place to check them out .. what a GREAT resource! 

I suggest you all go now and look in the way far back of your fridge.. are you scared of what you might find??

Responses

  1. Hi. I read a few of your other posts and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links?

    • Randy, the layout is a template option from wordpress. Also, I’d be happy to exchange blog roll links.


Leave a Reply

Categories

