Posted by: Admin | August 12, 2009

“Funemployment” Definitions

Funemployment:  The wonderful world of enjoying the free time you have without a job

This is not a word that I have created, I’ve seen it many places over the internet. I think it’s a term created by the rising up of the unemployed sub-culture to somehow make our existence better, or more entertaining or, perhaps just plain less pathetic & sad.

I’m finding more & more that many “Funemployed” people are slowly building their own language.  I have decided today to make a few of my own contributions based on my personal experiences over the last 45 days.

Welcome to the life of the unemployed…. This gives you but a glimpse into my world! 

Laycation – The “vacation” forced upon you by being laid off 

Mondebriated – Being drunk, during the afternoon, on a Monday   

BedectomyThe necessary act of extracting oneself from the comfort of your bed to start your day

HairathonThe unemployed race to see who can remain unshaven/ungroomed the longest (face, legs… etc!)

Nap-DoHair that looks as if you’ve just awakened from a nap

PajamattireThe unofficial “unemployment uniform”

GoogleationThe excitement you feel when you’ve successfully googled to find the information you were searching for

These are just a few of words that apply to my everyday life.  I’m sure there are many more… Please feel free to contribute & share your own!

Responses

  1. […] These are just a few of words that apply to my everyday life. I'm sure there are many more… Please feel free to visit my day-to-day Unemployment Blog to contribute & share your own! Active Leisure Blog […]

  2. I am so glad that I am came across your blog (by typing unemployment blogs in Google). I don’t feel alone now. I get a kick out of your blog. You should be a writer! There you go, ask the EDD if they will cover writing courses for you! See how that goes over.

    • Stevie ~ If only I could somehow find a way to pay my bills by writing I’d love it… but ,I’m a realist and I know that blogging really can’t pay my mortgage! So I’ll still pound the pavement. I’m glad your enjoying the blog. Please keep visiting and I truly hope you find a new role quickly!


Leave a Reply

Categories

