Posted by: Admin | August 13, 2009

I Am Not My Job!

I can still remember my first job.  I think I was 11 years old when my parents agreed to let me get a paper route.  They thought it would be an easy way for me to earn some “fun money” and for me to learn some responsibility.   Little did they know that it would be a defining moment in my life. 

Ahhh.... the memories!

Ahhh.... the memories!

There I was peddling my bicycle at 6:00am on a Sunday mornings, the wind blowing in my hair, the independence, the exercise, and oh yeah, the MONEY!  I was hungry for it.  I was also hungry for those Pillsbury cinnamon rolls that I was allowed to have when I got home from my route…. .ahhh, the smell, the warmth, the taste….. but I digress.

At the time I had no idea that an after school paper route would be the first dangerous step I would take towards defining myself by my job.  This job enabled me to open my first bank account and to truly get a taste of what it was like to be independent & self-sufficient (as much as these words can apply to an 11 year old!).  Now, I had the taste of money so, when I graduated from papers, I looked for other jobs; babysitting, odd jobs at a real estate office and so on.   I was off and running, and you know what.. I never looked back.  I worked through college, during the summers… I built myself a career.  And, almost 30 years later, I’m still that kid on a bike who wants to excel and move on to bigger & better.   And, to be quite honest, I feel bad that kids nowadays won’t be able to have the same paper delivery experiences that I did, since it really is a dying kids industry  Paper Routes No Longer Kids’ Stuff

So, as I sit here unemployed I’m afforded all the time in the world to reflect on my current circumstances. 

I find myself repeating the same mantra:  I am not my job, I am not my job.

They say, that everything that happens in your formative years helps to mold you into the adult you will become.  I can’t help but wonder if the adult I’ve become is a direct result of that paper route!

And, although it may sound like it, I’m not bitter… I’m proud of my accomplishments and I will always want to succeed and be respected in my professional life.  But, I’m realizing that life outside of work is just as important.  After all, I did deliver papers but I also went to the park, played sports, chased frogs, went to the movies, and spent time with my friends.  Maybe it’s time to be a little bit more like that papergirl! 

And…. just for the record, I can still taste those cinnamon rolls and I’d go out today and deliver papers to just recreate those mornings!

Leave a Reply

Categories

