Posted by: Admin | September 1, 2009

Jobless But Not Hopeless!

At least not yet! 

I’ve been reading on line a lot lately; discussion forums for unemployment, lay off stories from unfortunate souls whose livelihood was yanked away from them, many of whom have been without jobs for 8 or 10 months. Many are bitter people who are bashing old employers, and probably carrying at least some of this negativity with them when they go on interviews.  Let’s be honest, what happened to us all really does suck, but we need to look forward, not backward. 

I consider myself fortunate so far, that I’m only on my 2nd month of unemployment.  I know it gets harder each day and seems to become more depressing (and, God knows some days it’s harder than others).  But then, every so often, there is a glimmer of attention from a resume, or a job posting that seems to be custom made for me.  It’s on these days that I realize that I “Gotta have Faith” (I can even hear George Michael in my head right now) And heck, if George Michael (after everything he’s been through) can still sing about having faith, then so can I!  Not, sing that is… you wouldn’t want to hear me do that!

So today, I’m sharing my top 5 ways to stave off that bitterness & negativity. 

  1. Eat M&Ms…. Why M&Ms?  Well cause they’re chocolate of course, but beyond that they are a happy candy… they bring me back to being younger and enjoying simple pleasures.
  2. Take Bubble Baths…. Somehow when you’re becoming pruny in your tub, surrounded by candles, you can forget everything else that’s going on around you.
  3. Play With Your Dog…. if you don’t have a dog, borrow one.  There’s something amazing about the tail wagging love from a dog that will always, always make you smile… (no matter how bad your day is)
  4. Get a Manicure/Pedicure… yes, this is a “splurge” when you are unemployed but somehow pretty nails help to make you feel “normal” and good about yourself.
  5. Go to the Park or Beach and Enjoy a Sunny Day…. Yes, you’ll probably need to get showered & changed out of your pajamattire but this is a good thing and you’ll feel better for it.. I promise!

I guess the key is to pick something that you enjoy, something that you’d do for yourself, even if you had a job.  No one can job hunt 24/7.  And, if you don’t find some time for yourself, to do the things you love to do, the things that make you feel good about yourself, you’ll never be able lose the negativity.  You will undoubtedly interview better if you are feeling good about YOU! 

And, who knows, maybe you’ll get to show off that pedicure at your next interview.

So, with that being said… I’m off to a 2nd interview today… Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Great post! I wish you well in your interview, I know from experience how nerve-wracking they can be.

    Sending positive vibes from the UK!

    Jane


Leave a Reply

Categories

