Posted by: Admin | September 17, 2009

Ahhhhhh To Be Young Again…..

I’m a bit nostalgic today.  Hubby’s cousin has just announced he’s Europe bound with no concrete plans, no return ticket and probably very little money in his pocket.  Here’s a mere 25, not working and about to embark on a life changing experience.  And, to be totally honest…. I’m green with envy! 

I’ve been suggesting that he take this trip for years.   I’ll admit, I’m a bit biased, I myself have taken this journey of self exploration twice in my life.  Once right out of college and, a second time when I was “trying to find myself” a couple of years later.  Deciding to take this adventure was a scary step and at times it was overwhelming but I can say, unequivocally, that it was the best experience of my life.   Through both trips, I backpacked through 19 different countries, I sucked up as much culture and beauty as each country could offer.  I met wonderful people, I drank amazing wine, sunned myself on extravagant beaches, absorbed inspiring history, and even tested my will as I trekked on glaciers in the Swiss Alps.  It was a time of my life where I could go anywhere, at any time and do anything I wanted.  I was FREE!  Free of responsibility, free to explore, free to live!  It was a time in my life, where I gained tremendous self confidence and I learned to be independent and self sufficient.  To this day, I would argue that I gained more valuable life skills from this trip than I had from any other experience before or after.

These trips were over 15 yeas ago.  And the memories and knowledge that I gained from this journey have continued to serve me well in every aspect of my life to this very day.  I’m grateful for the opportunity, and I’m grateful my parents encouraged me to explore not only other cultures but also myself.

So, what’s the point of my post.. .other than my own trip down memory lane?  seize your day

Well, I guess it’s to suggest taking a different perspective on seizing opportunities that present themselves.  Taking that first step can be scary and overwhelming but, without taking a single step, you may never have the opportunity to see what’s out there or, to open the door to new experiences.

Obviously, I’m in a far different place right now than I was in my early 20s.   I have responsibilities, a husband, a mortgage and so on.  But, if you find yourself unemployed, and there’s something you’ve always wanted to do.  Perhaps the lesson here is to take that leap and experience life to it’s fullest.  Who knows what sort of learning will come from it. 

And, maybe 15 years later, you’ll look back and say, “you know what, that was the best thing I ever did!”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

