Posted by: Admin | September 30, 2009

“There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch”

I remember my economics teacher writing TANSTAAFL on the board at the front of the class when I was in school. By definition this phrase means:  things which appear to be free are always paid for in some way.

Who knew that some 25 years later, I’d finally have a better understanding of what this means.  As we look around at today’s economy I’d have to agree… nothing in life is free.  I mean heck..

  • I’m collecting “free” money from the government
  • GM is collecting
  • AIG is collecting
  • People who over-extended themselves with 100% financed mortgages, to buy houses in an inflated economy, are collecting 

But, I can assure you that although these “bail outs” are seemingly free, you bet your bottom dollar that they are costing someone, somewhere, a great deal.

My post today is actually not to give you an economics lesson, or to bitch about the government, or the bail outs, but to celebrate my own FREE LUNCH!

Yes, yesterday my pity pail runneth over.  Not the Fridge Pity Pail and not even the Beer Pity Pail (although there were indeed some beers consumed.. I am unemployed after all!)

But instead, my Friendship Pity Pail…. I suppose you could say that’s it not actually pity.. but rather the true definition of Friendship…

Wiki Definition: 

Friendship is the cooperative and supportive relationship between two or more people. In this sense, the term connotes a relationship which involves mutual knowledge, esteem, affection, and respect along with a degree of rendering service to friends in times of need or crisis.

It’s that last sentence that should catch your eye.  “..rendering service to friends in times of need or crisis”.  Which I have to admit is pretty much all encompassing of my current situation. 

Yesterday, a very dear friend bought me lunch … the absolute proof that there is indeed the possibility of a truly FREE LUNCH.  That’s the beauty of friendship, giving without the expectation of receiving anything in return.

free-hugs

It’s not even the expenditure that means a lot to me (although it’s surely appreciated), what’s more important is the gesture and the caring.   Well, that and the fact that I was forced to actually take a shower, put on real (public worthy) clothes and enjoy an afternoon.  There are many things in life that you can do without but, there are few things more important than friendship.

So, what are you waiting for….

Go out and get yourself a free lunch!  Or at least find yourself a friend who will motivate you to leave the house today… it really does help, I swear!!

Responses

  1. Wow, I actually DID have a free lunch paid for by a friend today!

    It was yummy drunken noodles at a Thai place.

    I was very responsible and only ate half of it and then, after leaving the restaurant, called Fluffy Bear (husband) and insisted we go for coffee and a donut.

    Hey, I’m unemployed – I’m allowed!

  2. This one was all about the warm fuzzies – I like it


Leave a Reply

Categories

