Posted by: Admin | October 6, 2009

Taco Tuesdays?

There’s something I have to admit. 

Even though I’m unemployed, and I’m pretty much home all day, every day……

I still don’t really cook dinners. 

It’s not that I can’t cook, or even that I’m a bad cook (I actually think, if I put my time into it, I’m pretty good).  I think maybe I’m just lazy?? (imagine that… another symptom of unemployment!)

Since we don’t have kids, Hubby and I have always eaten on a late and/or erratic schedule.   Most nights, dinner is not until about 8:30-9:00.  This was originally a result of my crazy work schedule (which obviously no longer exists)… but either way, we’ve stuck with this dinner time.

I’m really more of a, let-me-decide-last-minute-and-throw-something-together (or quite possibly, let’s order in) rather than a, let-me-defrost-in-the-morning-and-plan-ahead kind of gal

So, most nights go something like this.

Me:  “hon, it’s almost 8:30, any thoughts on dinner”

Hubby: “no, not really”  this is his standard reply

Me:  “well, I could make [insert some absurd quick frozen, boxed meal here] or we could order?”

Hubby: “I don’t care, whatever”

Me:  “ok, well, maybe I’ll turn on the oven and bake these [processed, frozen, high calorie]stuffed chicken breasts”

Hubby: “I think I’m gonna have a tuna fish sandwich”

Me:  ‘for dinner?”

Hubby: “yeah”

And, believe it or not this conversation plays out almost every night. No, Hubby does not eat tuna fish every night BUT, change the lazy food I want to make, and assume he eats it, and the story’s the same.  This is the routine we’ve settled into.   When I was working we used to go out to eat a LOT more than we do now (for obvious reasons).  And, for that matter we used to order in a lot more too!

The most depressing part is actually the choices of what I generally do make at home:

  • Tacos
  • Fajitas
  • Frozen stuffed chicken breasts (broccoli & cheese and kiev!)
  • Taquitos
  • Steak-Ums
  • Voila (frozen bags of crap)
  • And lots, and lots, and lots of Rice-A-Roni  (maybe I should get a job with them??!!)

On occasion, maybe once or twice a week, I’ll motivate myself to remember (and here’s the key… remembering…) to defrost something “normal” in the morning.  I’ll defrost chicken, steaks or even assorted fish (remember I did say, I CAN cook…. I just DON’T cook).  These of course are the nights that hubby winds up working late and I’m scrambling to get the stuff cooked over the next few nights before it goes bad.  (it seems I just can’t win).  And, during the summer it was far easier to have a better dinner since Hubby is a master griller!  But alas, the Fall is here and winter is fast approaching!

So, this is yet another crappy way unemployment has impacted my life….and, I wonder why I’m growing a muffin top??

Think Rice-A-Roni and bags of Voila for dinner might have anything to do with it??

Responses

  1. So glad I’m not the only one!

    I consider myself a good cook, and an even better baker, but I have no motivation to actually do either. We’ve been without sandwich bread or bagels for almost a month now because I refuse to buy any, but I can’t seem to get my butt into the kitchen in the morning to get them started.

    We’ve eaten way too many quesadillas for dinner considering I’m sitting at home all day!

  2. That is not what I taught you.
    Remind Rod we are just around the corner 🙂

  3. Im kinda thankful you haven’t taken up cooking. With all that good food to eat instead of tuna I might be workin a muffin top of my own.

    Love you

    • I have the same problem. I’m unemployed and can’t figure out what to serve every night for dinner either. I’m not even close to being a gourmet cook. Hell, I had to take a course on boiling water. When I was working, it was catcher, catch can. Now every night at 5 p.m., I get this sick feeling in the pit of my stomach because of the question: What am I going to cook, and how can I make it different? There are just so many ways you can make a meatloaf or chicken – my repertoire. I even toss hot dogs into the mix now and then just to change things up. I wish there was a cook book for the recipe challenged.

      Lauren
      http://thinkspin.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

