Posted by: Admin | October 8, 2009

Stir It Up!

Who knew that a Taco Tuesday post would cause such a stir.  But, I guess when you put your life out there, via a blog on the world wide web, you open yourself up to all that comes with it. 

Maybe I should be happy that people are reading it at all (which I really am…. I swear!)  After all it’s good to know that I don’t get my creative juices flowing each day (yes, I’ll admit some days are better than others) just so my husband & my mom can read my blog! 

Trust me… they both hear WAY too much about my life and my unemployment.  You almost have to wonder why they read at all, since they live and breath it every day.  And, I can assure you, on some days they’d like nothing more than to run screaming from the room!

Anyhow, back to Taco Tuesdays.

It started with an email from my mom on an “easy Caesar salad recipe”… it just showed up in my inbox that night.  The only note she attached said:

 “This is a great tasting salad for you not to cook”

For a split second, I had a quizzical look on my face .. why is she sending me a recipe??  Then, it hit me… she had read my blog.

During a phone call that night, she also kindly told me “this is not what I taught you”…. Indicating that she had always cooked dinner for us as a family each and every night, and she wondered where I learned the behavior of constantly eating out or ordering in.   To which I kindly responded…”I’m not you mom.  I used to work crazy hours and now I’m just plain lazy when it comes to thinking about, prepping and cooking dinners…. It is what it is.”

She then, ever so graciously, extended an open-ended invitation for hubby to go have dinner at her house…. (no mention of an invite for me, mind you…)  He’s welcome any night he wants to have a “real meal”.  Of course Mom & Dad eat dinner around 5:00 (and hubby doesn’t even get home from work until after 6:00…) so I can’t really see the logistics working out.  Thanks Mom, that’s very thoughtful of you.

Then, I thought it was over… but how wrong I was.

It’s only been 2 days since that post (but it seems like an eternity), I cannot believe how many people have somehow worked into casual conversation….

  • “What’s for dinner tonight?”  or….
  • “Is it frozen chicken Wednesday?”  or….
  • “Did you defrost anything today?”

The concern over my crappy dinner menu has been immense.  So, here’s where I’ve landed….

If you think my dinner preparation plan sucks (and, I’ll admit it probably does)

  • You can cook dinner at your house and deliver it to us
  • You can cook dinner at your house and invite us over (hubby AND ME!)
  • You can cook dinner at our house for us (we’ll share it with you of course)

So, there you have it.. 3 choices for you.  And, since I’m a really nice person….. I’ll even throw in a 4th option.

If you’d like to experience dinner at the Active Leisure household.. you are more than welcome to join us here.  You will have to take a gamble though as I won’t be able to tell you whether or not I’ll be “cooking” or just merely “heating” up dinner that night!

Oh, and one other warning… regardless of which dinner option you choose.  You need to be prepared to have dinner with an unshowered, unemployed person in her pajamattire…. sorry, that’s just how we roll at the AL house!

Hope to be eating with you soon!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

