Posted by: Admin | November 16, 2009

Re-energized, Refocused & Refreshed!

I’m back from vacation.. and I feel refreshed and recharged to dive back into my job search or to at least begin to start some forward momentum in my life.  

I have to admit, I feel like the last 2-3 months I’ve been living in limbo.. just hoping and waiting with my fingers crossed that someone will call me about a job.  It’s a helpless feeling and, in my 5th month of unemployment, pretty much downright depressing. 

The last time I had a conversation about a truly viable job was in August (that’s approx 12 weeks ago).  My phone just simply doesn’t ring.  I job search on line, I check in with industry contacts & recruiters and yet, I seemingly make no progress at all.  At least in the beginning, I was getting a call every couple of weeks or so about possible opportunities and then somehow, it all just stopped. 

So, I took a much needed mental health vacation… to keep my sanity, to try to have some semblance of a normal life, to refocus my efforts and to feel a little bit better about myself.  

And… what do you think happened? 

Yep, you guessed it. 

I got an email about a job interview the day AFTER I left for my vacation… which I did not actually read until this past weekend (a full 9 days after it was sent). 

I should mention that I’ve trimmed my cell phone down to the bare minimum plan – for obvious reasons.  So, while I was vacationing in another country, I did not have email/vmail access.  And, I debated paying the internet charge at the resort so I could check my email but I rationalized that since I’d had no activity for almost 12 weeks, missing email for one week wouldn’t really matter.

The good news is that I’ve connected with the prospective employer and we’re scheduled to speak this afternoon.   Hopefully they won’t hold it against me that it took me over a week to respond to them (great first impression huh??!!). 

So, now that I’m re-energized and I have a fresh outlook on the future, things feel a little bit better today.  I’m not sure if it’s due to the vacation, or the call about a job, or the fact that hopefully by the end of this week, I’ll officially be a realtor.  Whatever the case, I feel like I finally have some forward momentum and it feels REALLY GOOD!

HOORAY for a good day!

Because to be totally honest, there have been way too many bad days over the past 5 months.

Responses

  1. Congrats on the call back, that is lots more than I have gotten. Hope your “conversation” today went well. Fingers crossed.

    Glad to see a post from you too on both this and Hubby Diaries, was missing your humor!

    I keep thinking that it’s almost Christmas, surely places need at least temporary help for the holidays, I put in applications but no response, then I consider giving up on ever finding a job … maybe it is a sign I’m supposed to be a full time writer???

    • Thanks Julie! We had a great initial conversation and I’m scheduled for some formal interviews at the end of this week (please keep your fingers crossed!).

      And, I have to admit I’ve considered moving towards a career as a full time writer.. the problem is that full time writing certainly won’t pay my bills!

  2. I’m glad to hear that you’ve got a little head of steam. It’s so weird how that happens every once in a while. Keep it going!

    I’ve basically given up looking for work. It’s good. It forces me to drive my own business. 14 days ’til the rent is due again. Will I ever get ahead again? The treadmill is constantly trying to spit me into the wall.

    • Thanks Chuck!
      It really is crazy how in the midst of the ups & downs, some days I’m at my lowest of lows and other days I feel completely positive again! Keep running on that treadmill… you’ll conquer it eventually!


Leave a Reply

Categories

