Posted by: Admin | December 29, 2009

Good Riddance 2009!

I would like to officially declare 2009.. the year of SHIT.

There’s been a pretty full list of crappy things from this year…

  • My job loss
  • Our leaking refrigerator
  • Our kitchen cabinet issue since our new fridge didn’t fit (this is still not repaired btw)
  • The storm that ripped up our gazebo cover
  • Surgery for my poor doggie’s torn ACL
  • Barely any vacations (we normally go away 4-5 times a year)
  • My gaining close to 20 pounds

I’m actually quite sure that I could keep going with this list… but why would I want to continue to enumerate crappy things that I may have pushed into the depths of my mind.  I’d rather just leave them there, knowing that this year has truly been one of the worst I’ve ever experienced and I’m beyond thrilled to say goodbye to it.

However, it appears that 2009 is not yet done with me.

As I approach the tail end of this horrible year, I lose the one thing that’s truly been able to keep me going (no, not my dear hubby.. thank God!).  It’s the one thing that allows me to share my daily miseries with you…… my computer.

Yes folks my most trusted friend, has acquired a nasty case of the Swine Flu (or whatever name you’d like to give the horrific virus that’s taken hold).  And, my dear IT hubby has declared it a DNR.

As you can imagine, this computer has everything on it.. my entire 6 months of job searching, all my contacts, all my blogging data and so on and so on.  It’s sort of apropos that this would happen to me now.  In 2010, I will literally be starting with a clean slate (not by choice, but because I’ll have no other option).

Hopefully this means that I can leave all the shit from 2009 behind me and start fresh.  I have my fingers crossed because I just simply can’t think about bringing some of this crappiness into a new year with me!

I sincerely hope all of you are able to start 2010 with a fresh start too!

Responses

  1. Oh wow! The same thing happened to me just a few days before New Years… which explains why I am just now reading everything off my google reader! Sorry that happened, is there any way your job stuff can be retrieved? My motherboard went out in my 1.5 yr old laptop…. I was not happy! Fortunately, I found a local person who will be able to retrieve some of my information.

    • Christine ~ Well, my incredible IT hubby (who originally told me I was S-O-L) spent an enormous amount of time working on it and he was able to rebuild the entire system AND find a way to retrieve my data! There’s nothing worse than that moment when you realize everything that’s important to you is gone in the blink of an eye. I really need to get better at backing stuff up! Glad to hear you were able to retrieve some info too!

  2. I hope 2010 has been better for you so far!

    • Greedygrace ~ 2010 is actually looking FAR better 2009! Hope you are finding the same!


Leave a Reply

Categories

