Posted by: Admin | February 3, 2010

Let Them Eat Cake

I’ve spent some time this week trying to set the stage for getting back to a regular work schedule.  

Take for instance Tuesday night.. when I stayed up until 3:00am watching episodes of The Ultimate Cake Off on TLC.  Yes, I did say THREE-AM!  What the heck is wrong with me??

I have less than a week until I have to start working again and instead of structuring my schedule to ensure that I’m well rested and I’m going to be able to drag my sorry ass out of bed when my alarm goes off Monday morning, I’m staying up late to watch mind-numbing TV.  You may have noticed that I had this exact same problem when I started real estate school.

In general I am not a morning person, and I have a hard time getting going in the morning.  So, when I was gainfully employed I was pretty much in bed and asleep at 11:00 every night.  But now, my lights out time ranges from 12:00-3:00am and my getting up time ranges from 7:30am (on the rarest of occasions) to 10:00am (more likely). 

Happy Birthday Legoland 10th Anniversary Cake

So why, you may ask (and even if you didn’t I’m gonna tell you anyway, cause, well… this is my blog)…am I staying up until 3:00am?  I have to admit it’s because this particular show took me on a little journey through fantasyland.  And, I have to say I was enthralled.  If you haven’t seen this show, it showcases phenomenal cake decorators in a competition to design a custom cake over 5 ft tall, in only 9 hours.  Their artistic vision is just simply amazing.  These master decorators create cakes with such intricate detail and such beauty, that I’m simply awestruck.  I couldn’t conceive of creating a cake in nine months (yes, the time it takes to grow a new born child) much less in 9 hours.

And, on many levels it makes me wish that I had some sort of talent..  Now, don’t get me wrong.. I do have skills and there are many things I’m good at but I don’t feel that I have any true talents.  The people who make these cakes are artists.  They have creative abilities I can only dream of and they have a passion for what they do. It made me wish that there was something I loved to do, that made me feel fulfilled, that was a true talent, that could inspire others.  Because that’s what I felt as I watched the folks make their cakes.. truly inspired and amazed.

 

So needless to say, that’s why I stayed up until 3:00am.. to immerse my self in the beauty of these cakes and to fully appreciate the art & talent that goes into making them.  And to dream a little dream that someday I’ll discover what it is that I love to do that’s more than just a paycheck.

Responses

  1. Personally, I avoid cakes of the kind you describe seeing built at 3:00 a.m. The reason is simple: I like to eat cake, but show-off models work completely against consumption. Who’s going to cut the first piece? In the case of the Uncle Sam cake, who’s going to risk being put on a Republican hit list for cannibalizing an American icon? No, the cake of choice for me is a lopsided model, one with layers that came out of the oven looking all wrong and need lots of additional icing to make them look level. Now that’s cake!
    About staying up until all hours instead of establishing new habits better suited to employment: I can’t explain your behavior, but I can offer an answer to your problem. Assuming you eat dinner around seven, start drinking your favorite adult beverage about an hour before you sit down. Keep drinking through dinner, and if necessary supplement your intake with nightcaps. Unless you are gifted (or cursed) with a really amazing metabolism, you won’t be staying up for cake-decorating specials or anything else.
    Good luck!

    • bk~ I like your line of thinking…. adult beverages do seem to make just about everything better… don’t they?


Leave a Reply

Categories

