Posted by: Admin | February 15, 2010

No More Snow!

I’m done with snow.

That’s my declaration for today.  And, this is in the midst of reports that we should be expecting yet another snowstorm tonight.

 

  • About 2 weeks ago we got about 12 inches of snow.
  • Last week we got another 14 inches of snow.
  • Tonight they are suggesting 4 more inches.

 
 
 

I don’t know about you, but that’s more than enough snow to make me miserable.

Now that I’m working and I need to leave the house, those cosmic forces that find humor in making my life unnecessarily difficult must be chuckling up a storm (literally).

There’s nothing like making my transition back to “normal” life as challenging as possible. 

Here are a couple of things that all this snow has taught me:

  • Gutter guards are fantastic until they create 3 foot long, death spike, icicles that hang off the house
  • My dog seems to think that the smooth surface of our snow covered swimming pool is the perfect place to do her business (she obviously has never heard the saying “don’t pee in my pool”)
  • Not cleaning off the top of your car (when you have over a foot of snow on it) just may be one of the rudest behaviors around
  • Ice is slippery (duh!) and works in direct opposition to dress shoes that must be worn for work

I have also realized that it’s really hard to take a “snow day” when you’ve just started a new job.   What’s acceptable?  How much snow is enough snow to call out of work? What time in the morning can you make this decision?   You walk a fine line between staying safe and looking like a panic stricken chicken, who won’t drive in inclement weather.  I’m still trying to sort it all out.

Anyhow, if you’re in an area where you are expecting more snow… stay safe, stay warm and heed my warning:  don’t wear heels as you walk down your icy stairs and across your walkway to get to your car!

Leave a Reply

Categories

