Posted by: Admin | March 6, 2010

Are You Linked In?

So I went from having endless free time where I could put my feet up and blog each day, to working non stop.   I went from not having a job to trying to balance a full time job along with developing my new real estate career.  What this basically means is that I now work 7 days a week.

It’s been a challenging transition and I have to be honest, it’s really putting a wrench in my blogging time.  I certainly haven’t run out of things to say, but I have run out of free time to say it!

Anywho….  One thing that I’ve noticed lately, is that there seems to be a bit more momentum in the job market. I don’t know if I’m the only one who’s seeing this.  If you’re still job hunting you may be thinking… “What, is she crazy?? I’m still unemployed and my phone still isn’t ringing”.   I have no idea if this is industry specific or if, as the old saying goes, it’s easier to get a job when you have a job.  I’m certainly not in the market for another job BUT, in the past month or so, I’ve been contacted by quite a few people about jobs in my area.

Many of these the contacts were made through Linked In.

If you are not familiar with Linked In, and you work in any sort of professional environment, I would highly suggest you familiarize yourself.

Here’s a basic overview:  http://linkedin.com 

Linked In is a social media website that offers networking opportunities for business professionals.

I have found this website to be a fantastic tool.  You can set up your profile to be an online resume.  You can highlight your skill set and network with previous coworkers & customers.  You can receive and provide recommendations for/from other colleagues.  And, you can network with many other professionals in your chosen industry.  There are also many groups set up, that are specific to certain categories of business, and these groups provide many updates of job openings and news.  And, one additional resource that has provided me with the most success, is networking with a variety of headhunters/recruiters who are specific to my industry.

It allows me to keep in contact with many people who hear about jobs in my line of work.  And, I have received many emails from HR professionals, directly through Linked In, who are looking to fill roles in my area.  I’m certainly not saying that this is a surefire way to get a new job… but, if you’re not using it as part of your arsenal to find new employment, you are missing a key component.

NETWORKING – NETWORKING – NETWORKING

Do not underestimate the power of networking to find yourself a new job.  Without networking I would probably still be sitting in my PJs, on my couch, eating bon bons every day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

